incredibly frustrated

TheRaven

Hi,

I'm new to this forum, but thought if anyone could help me, it might be someone here! I've now had a total of 37 hours of dual instruction in the CTLS and still haven't soloed! Needless to say, it's very frustrating, and I'm on the verge of giving up. After all, I thought one of the main attractions of the sport pilot license was that it took fewer hours. I must be on pace for some kind of record, and obviously not a good one!

My first instructor told me that the reason I wasn't soloing was that my landings weren't very consistent. For various reasons, I switched to a different instructor, and suddenly my landings became much more consistent. But then a whole host of other issues cropped up, mainly having to do with ADM and my failure to respond appropriately to simulated engine-outs. Which, I might mention, my previous instructor never had me do in 28 hours of instruction. That always seemed kind of weird to me, but since I was a new student, I figured the CFI knew best. I'll never make that mistake again!

So I'm very frustrated with the flight school where I'm at now, and am thinking maybe a change of schools might help. My impression of my current school is that it's first and foremost a business, rather than a flight school, and as along as they have a steady stream of revenue, they don't really care what their success rate is.

But I guess other than simply venting my frustration, my question here would be: is the CTLS a somewhat difficult plane for newbies to fly? What is the average time to solo?

Thanks for any help.

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply