easy way to check tire pressure?????

Gmoore7

After reading the recent posts about flat tires I also ordered new tires and extra tubes so I will be ready when it does happen. I went out to the airport to check my air pressure. I did add air to the one tire. As I was doing this I remembered my Cessna farings. They had a easy access flap to put air in the tires.

Has anyone installed these on the CT' S? I studied this idea today, but I am thinking this may not be such a good idea especially on the mains due to the position of the valve stem.

Your response will be appreciated.

You have two choices.

Cut a large notch in e wheel pant to access the stem. (Not that great, but it works)

Or you can cut or trim the bottom edge off the mains and front wheel to make it more accessible. This one works very well and makes pre-flights of the wheels ten times easier. I do this for most of my customers. I use a Dremel tool with a cut-off blade and trim about 1" off the bottom. Use a piece of masking tape to cut a straight edge. It has a fleet approval already.

Hi Gary, I'm assuming that you bought tubes with 90 degree stems? These right angle stems allow me to check pressures and add air without trimming my wheel pants but I do have to get down to the floor to do this. I'll eventually trim the wheel pants as Roger suggests. I have also done a rounded "modified notch" for my friend's CTLS and it looks good and works too. The dremmel with cutoff wheel is the way to go.

Hi Gary,

Each wheel pant may be a little different. I use 1" masking tape to make a nice straight cut all the way across the pant. I do it for the front, too. The front bottom edge lip on the front curves in an makes it a PITB to work with for inflation or changing a tire.. Don't cut so much you are up into the depressed area where the wheel pant mounts. Leave approximately 1/2" below that depression. This will make inspecting nuts, tires and inflation much easier.