Can I do it?

FlyingMonkey

First, my background: I'm a sport pilot in Georgia based at KWDR, with about 55 hours total time and six in a CT. I have my D/C/B airspace endorsement. I think I have good stick and rudder and flight planning skills. My CT landings are not awesome, but not bad either. They are just not yet as consistent as I want.

Now the setup: my wife has family in Michigan, and her nephew is getting married at the end of August. We are leaving the 21st to attend. It's a 19 hour trip.

And the question: Do I have time to adequately prepare well enough to safely fly us up in the CT and save about 14 hours (each way) in a vehicle? I have ever done a cross country nearly that long, but the airspace route is uncomplicated if I bend the route a little to avoid the Cincinnati class B. I would fly into KRQB, about 540nm each way.

My plan would be to fly every day that weather allowed, hitting lots of local airports and doing some longer cross countries on the weekends. On such a long trip weather is obviously a factor, and I would not launch unless weather looked good over the route. My plane has XM weather.

Can I safely do this, or is it a bad idea? I wish it were at the end of September, but it's not. The idea of saving so much travel time is exciting, but I don't want to let that lure me into a bad decision.

The issue I would have is that you sound like you definitly need to be there. Do you also need to be back at a certain time? If both are true, I would not chance it. It is one thing to know you are going to have bad weather and cancel the flight and drive, but it is a different problem if you need to get back and the weather is iffy. The best choice at that point would be to rent a car and return for the plane another day. If you are going to be reluctant to make that decision, drive.