Floor mats? Any thoughts on these?

okent

Flew my 2008 CTLS to Oshkosh this year from Tulsa and found that I had a hard time finding a comfortable position for my feet.  It wasn't bad but just not like resting feet on the floorboard of my truck/car.

I am a low hour pilot so the thought of resting my feet on the pedals just seemed weird.

I don't have floor mats and was wondering if this seemed to help in any way or if this is even a reasonable thing to add to the plane in terms of general niceness or convenience.

Thanks

Okent, had the same issue on my way to OSH from CT.  discovered a position that was temporary but effective.  While cruising, I put my feet up over the pedals and rested the balls of my feet on the firewall.  It allowed me to stretch my legs a bit.   I have a CTLS perhaps our configurations are different.  Try it out next time. 

5 hours ago, AGLyme said:

Paid $180k for the mats, FD threw in the Plane.

The mats are affixed to the floor because they would slide all over the place otherwise.  I can take pics if you wish.  I will be flying tomorrow so will send them your way Bill...

Sounds good.

Thank you.

I was and am still not impressed with Flight Design's solution for floor mats. When I had my airplane I made patterns and had my dad who is in the upholstery business make some carpets. They go from under the seat all the way to the firewall, with a cut out for the control stick and slits for the rudder supports. They have an opening sewn in for the compartment. I also made a panel for the firewall and outside kick panel. The carpet doesn't solve all the cross country problems, but it does help some. 

AGlyme - the one on the picture is an earlier model,  Sting Sport, but yeah, they are nice clean planes with performance similar to the CT line. Interestingly, staying on the topic 🙂 the floor is already carpeted all around in my plane so I don't have to worry about it - just make sure to vacuum the thing now and then.