The Jacobson Flare

Rodney

I have always had trouble with landing.   One day I'd grease it on and then the next day bounce it in.   Didn't matter what airplane I flew.  In all my years of flying I could never find a method by which I could consistently, repeatedly perform really good landings.   And no instructor I have ever flown with could tell me how.   It was the old joke of "There are three rules to making consistently good landings - unfortunately no one knows what they are."   Well now I know what the rules are - they do exist in a clear easy to understand mathematical model that everyone can apply. - No - you don't need your calculator on final!

Full disclosure here - I'm a Kitfox 7 pilot, but I like hanging around your space cause there is just a lot of good information here.  Especially enjoy soaking up all the wisdom Roger has on the Rotax engine.  Went to the Page Fly-in several years back and my wife and I had a great time.

I flew my Kitfox for five years as a nose-gear airplane, but just recently converted it to a taildragger with big tires.   I had to do something to learn how to land a tail dragger without  continually bouncing down the runway.   It's embarrassing when the guys at the airport get out their lawn chairs - pop a few beers and start taking bets on how many times your going to bounce on landing - or when the inevitable ground loop will happen.   Until I learned this method - I will admit I put on a pretty good show.   

I talked to most of the tailwheel pilots around my airport - talked to one of the pro pilots that fly a Beech C90 for medivac - he also has a Whitman Tailwind - but none of them really helped me.  So I started searching books and the internet.   I finally found this YouTube video - 

www.youtube.com/watch?v=cv3ZSHjt8fs