Insurance Cost...is this number about correct

FlyingMonkey

I just got an insurance quote from Falcon. I am a low time Sport Pilot (45 hours total, all in LSA), with zero hours in a CT. Falcon quoted me $1818, which is about what I expected based on quotes for other plane I have gotten. This includes $1M liability, $100K per passenger limits, and full coverage (no deductibles) for in motion events in flight and on the ground.

HOWEVER, the quote excludes "ground not in motion" coverage, which bumps the quote about $1200 to a hair over $3K. That seems high for not in motion coverage; the loss risk on an airplane sitting in the hangar is surely not 66% as much as it is when it's flying/taxiing! Anyhow, I know I'm low time and I expected it to be on the high side...my only question is whether this is "normal high" or "too high."

Also, are there any "tricks" to lowering insurance rates? Taking a high deductible, omitting certain coverages, etc? I might be financing so the bank might have the final say in what coverage I have to carry.

Thoughts?

I'm paying about $1400 for liability and a $85,000 hull. That's with 300 hours and private pilot license. I've not even looked at the "not in motion" thing.

So is that something most people don't carry? What if your hangar catches fire and burns your plane to a cinder?

BTW, my quote was based on a $70K hull. If you have 300hrs and are paying $1400 for coverage similar to mine without the not-moving coverage, then I seem to be getting a pretty good deal with 45hrs and $1818. The quote requires 5hr dual and 15 landings in type before acting as PIC, which seems pretty standard.

Most policies that I've seen cover not in motion, and charge more for in motion hull coverage. Maybe since your from the South where you have a better chance at a hurricane it could be different. I think you should call them and have them explain what is going on.