CTSW vs CTLS

Darrenr

I am new to flight design and took a test flight in each and loved both. Looking to buy and want to confirm some rumors. I am told the useful load on the SW is higher than the LS by around 75 lbs assuming it has glass 100/120 setup? Also heard the SW is a little faster 5-10 kts indicated in cruise? Can anyone shed any light? Also anything else I should know about one vs the other?

I have owned both the CTSW and the CTLS... Useful load difference on a 2006 SW versus a 2012 LS is 94 pounds (both fully loaded). Speed was pretty much the same give or take a few kts. CTLS landing gear dramatic improvement over the SW. For my tastes, landing gear alone worth the price of the upgrade. If you need more useful load the SW is hard to beat. If 500 is enough for you (versus 600) I'd go LS. On either version I'd go tundra versus standard, also worth the price of admission. Thats my 2 cents!

http://youtu.be/4PIgWDgwj1M

The SW is lighter, but it is NOT faster. The 912i engine is more efficient on gas and has more power than the older engines. The SW is lighter mainly because many of them have less capable avionics, even steam guages etc. And lack autopilots and other goodies. You get what you WEIGHT for.

Both the 912 ULS and 912i are rated for 100hp @ 5,800 RPM and 93hp @ 5,500 RPM WOT standard day. That clearly makes the lighter SW faster than the FI SL!

It does make a difference, the physics will not be denied, better power/weight=faster. My cruise at 75% power is 120kt+ If you are 5 kts less than the permissible speed and I am 5+ knots faster that is a difference in speed.

Weight is not irrelevant, in light sport aviation it is quite relevant.

Don't get too caught up in too much hipe and make sure all things are equal or you'll come up short.