Strange Instruction

FlyingMonkey

An instructor a couple of weeks ago said something that has been bothering me. He said:

"Never add any rudder in a turn of 45 degrees or more, especially down low, as you risk a spin."

That goes against everything I've ever learned, that says that you ALWAYS fly coordinated. In fact, you can't spin if you stay coordinated, even in a deep stall.

Am I mistaken, or is there some "except for when..." caveat I have not heard? As a low time pilot I accept I don't know everything about flying, but like I said this goes against a lot of my teaching and I feel the need to resolve it!

There are a couple cases where you will not maintain coordinated flight which are forward and side slips, otherwise you are correct that you try to maintain coordinated flight. Remember the rudder is used to counteract the adverse yaw created by using ailerons to bank the aircraft for a turn. Once a bank angle has been established the ailerons return to a near neutral position so less rudder is needed to maintain coordination. In a steeper turn the aircraft may have tendency to try and overbank because the outer wing is moving a little faster then the inner. You may find you need opposite aileron pressure and corresponding rudder to get what you need. Also you should not be at steep bank angles below 1500ft AGL. In the pattern especially limit your bank angle to no more than 30 degrees.

You may have him out of context. When turning, you do so with aileron and rudder in the direction of the turn. Then neutralize to maintain the bank. So, maybe what he was telling you is not to add rudder in the direction of turn, which would be bottom rudder, which without aileron would put you in a skidding turn, which could stall the bottom wing if you got slow enough, which, close to the ground would not be pretty.