Flat Spins

Dan Kent

I'm an new Sport Pilot, and I saw under the incident thread some speculation that the recent Samba accident in the lakebed may have been due to a flat spin.

I'm not sure I completely understand how this might happen so I have a question:

I was under the impression that most modern airplane design intentionally had the nose heavy with the elevator generating downward force to keep the plane in level flight. If a flat spin occurs then wouldn't that plane have to considerable out of W&B?

Wikipedia led me to believe that the CG needs to be roughly aligned with the center of lift to stay in a flat spin.

Thanks.

Wow, that sucked!

I was wondering why the engine stopped. Then it occurred to me that centrifugal force would drive the fuel outboard in the tanks, if the plane had wing-mounted tanks.

Then again, most fully aerobatic planes have some sort of a header tank to keep fuel flowing in cases like this.

In any case, I wonder why NO effort was made at a restart?

edited to add - just went to YouTube. In the comments:

Engine killed as part of a flat spin recovery.

Plane had no electric starter.

That explains that!

At 39 seconds into this video is the time to employ one of the lessons from Wayne Hadley. The falling leaf manuever that prevents rotation tells us that left rudder as the right wing drops prevents the rotation, prevents the spin, prevents the flat spin.

There are good lessons in this video that I use in my everyday flying.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwrfEsCiltc&feature=youtu.be

• 2 weeks later...

Dan,

If you stay with what you were trained to do, periodically seek additional training to improve your skills, fly regular, fly within the parameters set for your aircraft, and don't be a wiseass cowboy, then you have very little to fear from flat spins, IMHO.

Further, we have no idea why the Samba crashed until the NTSB speaks. All else is speculation.