In flight adjustable prop

sandpiper

BC Canada here. I am no mechanical expert. I've got a Kaspar hydraulic adjustable on my 2003 CT2k. There are constant speed controllers available for it, but I have become accustomed to the hydraulic, so I'm happy with it.. Just overhauled bearings and pushrods at 1000hrs, it has operated flawlessly. The blades are a bit crazed from years in the sun, but otherwise fine. Take off roll will see the RPM climb quickly to 5800 if the pitch isn't coarsened (two notches before rotation) and it is easily possible to overspeed if not careful. \\\I simply choose the rpm you want for the throttle setting. My climbout is variable, commonly 5550-5600 for less than a minute, before I settle into a 5400-5500 climb. Depending on hill in front of me. WOT at about 6000' is about 5350 with full coarse and an honest cruise of 120, I can choose to go at 5500 all the time, but tend to throttle back half, and run the RPM at 5300-5400, cruising at about 110-115. lifetime fuel consumption is about 17.5litres per hour. I also fly at times throttled right back at 4250 and all places in between. Adjustable is essential IMO when flying in our terrain. When I first got the aircraft there was 300hrs on leaded fuel in it and a packed out gearbox that rattled at 46-4700rpm. A repack and unleaded has kept it smooth running though all rpm since. I don't have manifold pressure gauges. maybe someone can tell me about what happen to the manifold pressure as RPM is maintained and throttle reduced....

I have the same set up as Mike and my full throttle fine pitch rpm is 5400 and I start coarsening it up shortly after rotation .

Climb out at 5200 and I either coarsen it up further depending on climb out speed or easy back on the power.

Rest of the flight is around 5000 to 5200 rpm that I control by mainly Variable pitch augmented by slight differences in power setting.