Pre heaters

Rich

I've been researching pre heaters and have gone to the Reiff webpage.

There's one especially for the Rotax 912 which I was going t purchase. They also sell a heat pad for he oil cooler

This Rotax heater does not have cylinder head heat strips.

I'd appreciate any input on this type of heater. ill it be sufficient?

I have called the company but no response.

On another matter, I can't type on this forum without re-typing nearly every word, as spaces and letters are left out.

It's very frustrating.

Any cure for this?

Rich

Rich -- you may have already checked it out but you might take a look at Hornet heater (http://www.aircraftheaters.com/#!aircraftheaters/c10my). No install, has a thermostat and could be used as a cockpit heater after takeoff. Looks like it could fit in the S4 cowl fairly easy. I have zero experience with engine preheaters since I'm definitely a southern boy.

Well I just spent .5 hours typing a reply to all. Twice the same basic message. Both disappeared before sending. I'm giving up tonight.

Thanks for all your replies as it helped in my decision. Fan unit for the cabin preheat and the Reiff 150W unit for the engine with the oil tank and sump heating elements w/ thermostat.

Roger, any harm in keeping it on constantly, other than electric use.

Rich

Here is a little something that maintains the engine compartment at 70 degrees.

Under 100.00

Next modification will be to keep the interior at the same temp.

It's run by an arduino board that I cobbled together.

I can call it and find out what temp the engine compartment is, the delivery temp of the air, the air return temp and how long the fan has run.

post-456-0-50025700-1386299086_thumb.jpg

My Reiff works well in an unheated hangar in Iowa.