On-Condition Coolant and oil hoses

John Vance

I’m considering a change in hose material for the coolant and oil lines at the next replacement.  Does anyone have experience with teflon or other hose material that would allow remaining changes to be done on-condition?  This would be for a 2010 CTLS (S-LSA), and would require an MRA.  I’ve heard that teflon tends to harden with age and can crack if used in an application where the hoses flexes.  My mechanic tells me that he has the ability to make the crimps for the fittings, but I have no experience with this and don’t know what tooling is required.  Is this worth considering or are there downsides that would negate any benefits?  Any recommendations on sources or material specs?  

3 hours ago, Madhatter said:

I know of no teflon product that would be acceptable for this coolant application primarily due to the mechanical properties of teflon for this type of installation. Oil lines, yes, I intend to do this but you must be ELSA.

I talked to Arian about this, and he’s open to approving an MRA, but of course the details need to be spelled out.  I’m just getting started looking into this. What is the issue with teflon for coolant lines?

The problem with Teflon fuel or oil hose going on condition is how do you inspect under the fire sleeve. Take all the hoses off and out of the fire sleeve? Won't happen. Teflon hoses can be damage from clamps too. Most oil and coolant hoses don't have an issue in the middle. It's usually over fittings and clamps.

I would say teflon hoses up in the wings, and in the avionics pod would be a perfect application, and down to the gascolator. After the gascolator, keep it rubber, it becomes dicey.

You're also going to find out HOW INSANELY EXPENSIVE teflon hoses are. It will take 15 years before it pays itself back.

The only issue I can see inside the pod is with the fuel strainer and its need to be installed and removed, that part should probably also remain rubber.