Prospective CTSW Purchaser - In Flight Storage

SkyGuy

This is a great forum and I'm glad to be a new member.  I am a student sport pilot currently training in a Tecnam P92 Echo.  I've been conducting exhaustive research of high wing S-LSA on the internet and the CTSW is solidifying as my top choice.  Ideally, I'd like to purchase a used one fairly soon to finish my training in "my plane" that I'll be flying when I receive my certificate.  In any event, my one lingering concern about the CTSW is the bulkhead right behind the seats preventing access to the baggage/storage area.  Where do you put your flight bag and other essentials you need to access during flight?

As a related question, what is below the two removable floor boards?  Is there sufficient area below the floor boards to store essential items needed during flight?  With the CTSW being such a popular aircraft, I trust this is not an issue.  But I'm very interested in learning from current CTSW pilots what methods, tricks, etc. you use to accommodate your in-flight items?  Thank you in advance for any input.

~John

Welcome John,

I downsized to a smaller flight bag that slips between side / rear of seat, when you own a plane the Ipad and headsets are left in the bird and what I "need" to carry in a flight bag is minimal.  If I'm away from plane I sometimes place all these items in rear (more secure) baggage area, but the point is a small flight bag is the arrangement.  Kneeboard & flight plan tucks between side of seat and center console.  The bottom floor boards require removing shoulder harness to lean forward, I tuck less neccesary items there.  Tools, water bottles, bungee cords, etc.

If the seats are forward there is a fairly large space behind and under them.  I'll slip sweatshirts, pee jug, etc down there.

I've looked at a lot of LSA's over the years, the spacious one's such as Ranger are interesting but we all have the weight limitations and I'll take a FD that's 25 knots faster every time.