Find it very hard to land this bird.

dasflughusen

Hi guys, I am a new student working on the license, I'm not learning this full time, I have to wait for a long time before having a long vacation available for me to learn to fly. The pattern is like 10 hours per year on one big vacation...

When I fly this CTLS, especially on final, I feel the plane seems like a fish swinging from left to right, after my rudder work and fixing alignment, the plane won't stay on the centerline for more than 5 seconds, it will slide to one side. I feel I am on a very slippery road. I flew Cessna 172 before, and I didn't felt an 172 slide like CTLS.

The second part of my problem is I tend to be fast and high on final. The method taught by the instructor is 63~65kts approach with 15 degrees of flap. They said that for beginners, fly few knots than 1.3 Vso is safer. And, In autumn and winter, the engine is more powerful, when I exit from the 4th turn to the final, I tend to be 10~20 meters higher and 3~4 kts faster, so if I pitch down, the aircraft goes faster, sometimes it can reach 70 kts on final. I tried to retract thrust level to reach 2400 rpm but it looks like the plane is still accelerating.

And then there is the 3rd problem, I tend to be fast on runway threshold. Usually 65kts there, then when I start to flare, it is likely that my first pull will balloon the plane, and then the plane will sink so fast that I cannot response with a proper flare pull and the plane sit on the runway heavilly.

When all these factors combined I sometimes feel that I cannot sense the sinking unless the plane is sinking very fast.

You cannot force these light sport airplanes, especially the CTs to land. ALL of the airspeed must be bled off before the landings will "stick" . Keep "slowing" the plane down until you feel the landings stick and that will be your target airspeed.  Mine is "over the numbers" at 60 (15 Deg Flaps) then hold it off until it kisses the runway or drops in.