Using the Garmin 696

pilotgeorge

Hi pilotgeorge,

The 696 is amazing! I'd be glad to try answer any questions you may come across. I'm not an expert but I do use our a lot teaching students everyday in our CTLS. Feel free to call the number listed below or email at coppercityaviation.com or just post on the forum.

Two things helped me understand and better utilize the 696.

Consider subscribing to GARMIN's eLearning course at fly.garmin.com/fly-garmin/training For $49 you get a 90 day sub which I completed twice and referenced more times. Costs less than a month of XM-WX and worth it.

The unit has a simulator mode. It's very robust. And in any event, play with the unit. Press the buttons along with reading the manual [RTFM].

Feel free to email me if I can be of help. Glad to.

I just bought a Garmin 696. Getting it installed in my Piper Seneca.

I am looking to hook up with someone who has already mastered the instument, and can answer questions I will have as I tackle the complexity of this amazing device.

I more or less get the basics of the unit, but two questions to get started:

1) I understand how to put in a "go to" airport, and follow the map. BUT, if I am out just flying around with no goto airport set in, will the map simply follow my position?

2) On a planned flight, I put in a destination airport. I want to easily be able to switch between map and airport charts. Is there a quick way to switch back and forth?

3) With reference to charts, I thought the approach plates were geo-referenced? They appear to be simply static copies of the Jeps, or NOS charts. Ho do I get the charts to become geo-referenced?

Once I have the hang of this, my 35 year old technology radios are going to gather dust!

George

Garmin sells a DVD simulator for your computer that operates exactly like the in panel device. The CD sells at Garmin and I found it to be a tremendous learning tool!

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=51720