ELSA possible fuel flow fix???

IndianaCTSW

So I’m still new to the CT life. Also haven’t converted to ELSA yet, but will be soon ( that’s not the topic of this discussion). Lol

With that being said, has anyone that converted to ELSA thought of installing a fuel shut off right next to each each wing where the pickup comes out? 

I know aircraft spuce has them relatively cheap and it seems if you installed one on both sides, then you could control fuel level by shutting off the tank that was lower on fuel and force the engine to pull from the other tank. Correct??? Maybe???

i know some will say it’s not necessary and have comments the don’t pertain to if it would actually work. I’m more interested if anyone has a reason it would not work or they don’t think it’s a good idea because of a safety issue???? 

Not it trying to start an argument or debate with it. I just think it would make me feel better if I ran my tank low and the other side had a lot left, if I was able to shut that side off that was low on fuel and save a little that way I could have both tanks open and be able to get fuel from both while landing. 

Just something simple like this mounted up by the wing on a aluminum plate or something similar  

44A918F8-D11F-47B1-9E4A-99F6E59DF2FA.png

I don't think this is wise, personally.  It leads to a complex fuel system that has three valves (the on/off fuel valve and now one for each tank), all of which can fail and one of which is clear across the cockpit from the pilot.  If you forget to open a valve and run the only active tank low, it would be very easy to unport the active tank and cause an unintentional engine stoppage.  If the active tank was the left, now you have to lean across the cockpit to get to the valve to correct the situation, all while trying to manage glide speed.  If that happens at the pattern, at low altitude or airspeed, you could be in an off airport landing situation very quickly.